giphy

“Oh, you’re from Finland! This must feel like a summer to you?” “How can you feel cold? I mean, you’re from Finland, right? You’re used to coldness?”

Sounds familiar?

It’s funny how people think just because you’re from a country where during winter it can get as cold as -20 degrees (even colder in the north of Finland) we can’t feel cold. I experienced this last year when first time in London the temperature hit below zero…I didn’t even have a winter jacket! “It can’t be that cold to you! How a Finnish girl feels cold?…”

Let’s make this clear: I’m human like anyone else, and I DO feel cold. When it’s cold, it’s cold! (Also we do have summer, when it can be even +30 degrees! Yes, +30. It’s  not just winter 365 days per year.)

Also it’s different here than in Finland. Here, in London, the humidity affects the way you feel cold inside your bones no matter how many clothes you try to wear. We, Finns, are used to wear clothes according to weather. When it’s cold we put more clothes on, and problem solved. As long as you have enough clothes, you can feel actually warm even in -20 degrees.

giphy-1

At the moment it’s -5 degrees in my city (Espoo) and here +8. How is it than possible that the houses here gets so cold? I have to keep my room constantly warm by radiator. Every morning I woke up feeling like Frozen Elsa or Mörkö had visited my room even though I put my radiator on for 2 hours (the longest period I can keep it on, then I’d had to put it on again…) when I’m going to sleep. Which is why, I guess, I’m constantly sick…like right now. London…

elsa

In Finland I wouldn’t have to feel cold inside. And no, there’s no need for using radiator 24/7. Thanks to proper insulation the houses stays warm. I don’t know why these Brits don’t know how to use insulator, because I wouldn’t be wearing right now my warmest socks, long-sleeve shirt under my hoodie, and leggings under my pants + a blanket around me, keeping me warm.

Yet, I’m not going no where from here. It might be cold – different from what I’m used to – but since I was born and raised in Finland, with Finnish sisu I can bear with this cold even though I don’t like it, and never will get used to it.

